What Is The Big Idea?
STAT 29000, Spring 2015

Seminar: Tuesdays, 3:30 PM -- 4:20 PM, in UNIV 203
(STAT 29000-001; Banner CRN 15852)

Professor: Mark Daniel Ward
Email: mdw@purdue.edu
Office: MATH 540
Phone: 765-496-9563

Office hours: Dr. Ward is always happy to meet with students.
Dr. Ward is available for walk-in or scheduled appointments anytime, throughout the week.
He is also always guaranteed to be available MWF, 7:30 AM -- 8:20 AM, in MATH 540.

Course description: click here

Course policy: click here

Please plan to be present for every seminar.

Seminar Speaker Schedule
Week 1: Tues, Jan 13
Mr. George Takahashi
Technical Lead, Envision Center
Research Computing, ITaP
NOTE: Special location: Envision Center
underground between the Purdue Memorial Union
and Stewart Center. Please go to the Starbucks
in the Union and take the nearby tunnel underground
towards the Stewart Center, next to the stairs by Starbucks.
Week 2: Tues, Jan 20
NOTE: Special Time and Location:
3 PM to 4 PM in Lawson 1142
Dr. Carlos Castillo-Chavez
Regents Professor of Mathematics
and also a Joaquin Bustoz Jr. Professor of Mathematical Biology
and a Distinguished Sustainability Scientist
at Arizona State University
"Diversity in Science Forum"
Week 3: Tues, Jan 27
Mr. Bob Zigon
Sr Staff Research Engineer,
Beckman Coulter
Week 4: Tues, Feb 3
Dr. Michael Baldwin
Associate Professor
Department of Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences
Week 5: Tues, Feb 10
Dr. Christine Weber-Fox
Professor
Department of Speech, Language, & Hearing Sciences
Week 6: Tues, Feb 17
What’s the Big Deal About Nanotechnology? video preview
NOTE: Special location: We will meet at Birck Nanotechnology Center,
1205 W. State Street, which is located in Discovery Park
Week 7: Tues, Feb 24
planning session for
the 1st Annual Purdue Statistics branch of the ASA DataFest
and for the trip to Rose-Hulman
Week 8: Tues, Mar 3
Dr. Sharon Christ
Assistant Professor of Statistics,
Assistant Professor of Human Development and Family Studies
Week 9: Tues, Mar 10
Dr. Arman Sabbaghi
Assistant Professor of Statistics
Week 10: Tues, Mar 17
Spring Break (no seminar)
Week 11: Tues, Mar 24
Week 12: Tues, Mar 31
Dr. Walid Sharabati
Visiting Assistant Professor of Statistics
Week 13: Tues, Apr 7
Dr. Guy Lebanon
Senior Manager and Head of Feed Relevance
LinkedIn
Week 14: Tues, Apr 14 (no seminar)
Week 15: Tues, Apr 21
Dr. Jonathon Peterson
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Week 16: Tues, Apr 28 Evaluations by Dr. Loran Carleton Parker


This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. 1246818. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.