Rising Above The Gathering Storm
STAT 29000, Fall 2016

Seminar: Tuesdays, 3:30 PM -- 4:20 PM, in UNIV 017
(STAT 29000-002; Banner CRN 15201)

Professor: Mark Daniel Ward
Email: mdw@purdue.edu
Office: MATH 200
Phone: 765-496-9563

Office hours: Dr. Ward is always happy to meet with students.
Dr. Ward is available for walk-in or scheduled appointments anytime, throughout the week.
He is also always guaranteed to be available Mondays and Fridays, 7:30 AM -- 8:20 AM, in MATH 200.

Course description: click here

Course policy: click here

Please plan to be present for every seminar.

Seminar Speaker Schedule
Week 1: Tues, Aug 23
Dr. Hao Zhang
Head of Department of Statistics,
Professor, Department of Statistics,
Professor of Forestry and Natural Resources
Week 2: Tues, Aug 30
reserved for planning purposes
Week 3: Tues, Sep 6 Mr. Remy Spoentgen
Data Science; GBS Emerging Leaders Program at Nielsen
(also, dinner with Mr. Spoentgen afterwards)
Week 4: Tues, Sep 13
reserved for the external review
of the Department of Statistics;
details about this seminar will be announced
Week 5: Tues, Sep 20
Dr. John Sninsky
Chief Scientific Officer
CareDx, Inc.
(also, dinner with Dr. Sninsky afterwards)
Week 6: Tues, Sep 27
Mr. Cole Manschot
Planning Associate Analyst
on the Statistical Modeling Team
at PepsiCo
Week 7: Tues, Oct 4
Mr. Josh Lee
Assistant Director, Academic Success Center
Week 8: Tues, Oct 11
October Break (no seminar)
Week 9: Tues, Oct 18
team from the College of Science's
Science Diversity Office:
Dr. Zenephia E. Evans (Director)
Ms. Connie K. Brophy (Assistant Director)
Ms. Natasha L. Harris (Assistant Director)
Week 10: Tues, Oct 25
Dr. Yung-Hsiang Lu
Associate Professor of
Electrical and Computer Engineering, and
Associate Professor of Computer Science (courtesy)
Week 11: Tues, Nov 1
Ms. Veronica Schirm
Director, National & International Scholarships Office
Purdue University Honors College
Week 12: Tues, Nov 8
Week 13: Tues, Nov 15
Mr. Lee Gordon
Director of Graduate Admissions,
Purdue University, The Graduate School
Week 14: Tues, Nov 22
no seminar?
Week 15: Tues, Nov 29
Mr. Jonathan Blair
Market Research Project Manager
Texas Instruments
Week 16: Tues, Dec 6
Graduate student panel:
Ms. Mayfawny Bergmann (Statistics)
Ms. Raquel De Souza Borges Ferreira (Statistics)
Ms. Kelly-Ann Dixon Hamil (Statistics);
Mr. Will Eagan (Statistics)
Mr. Zach Haas (Statistics)


This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. 1246818. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.