Rising Above The Gathering Storm
STAT 29000, Fall 2017

Seminar: Tuesdays, 3:30 PM -- 4:20 PM, in UNIV 017
(STAT 29000-002; Banner CRN 15201)

Professor: Mark Daniel Ward
Email: mdw@purdue.edu
Office: MATH 200
Phone: 765-496-9563

Office hours: Dr. Ward is always happy to meet with students.
Dr. Ward is available for walk-in or scheduled appointments anytime, throughout the week.
He is also always guaranteed to be available Mondays and Fridays, 7:30 AM -- 8:20 AM, in MATH 200.

Course description: click here

Course policy: click here

Please plan to be present for every seminar.

Seminar Speaker Schedule
Week 1: Tues, Aug 22
Dr. Hao Zhang
Head of Department of Statistics,
Professor, Department of Statistics,
Professor of Forestry and Natural Resources
Week 2: Tues, Aug 29
Mr. Michael S. Nolan
Professor, Department of Aviation Technology
Week 3: Tues, Sep 5 Mr. Remy Spoentgen
Data Science department at Nielsen;
Associate Manager for Data Science - Methods
(also, dinner with Mr. Spoentgen afterwards)
Week 4: Tues, Sep 12
Mr. Cole Manschot
Planning Associate Analyst
on the Statistical Modeling Team
at PepsiCo
Week 5: Tues, Sep 19
team from the College of Science's
Science Diversity Office:
Dr. Zenephia E. Evans (Director)
Ms. Connie K. Brophy (Assistant Director)
Ms. Natasha L. Harris (Assistant Director)
Week 6: Tues, Sep 26
Dr. Nicole M. Joseph
Assistant Professor
Mathematics Education
Vanderbilt University
(schedule)
Week 7: Tues, Oct 3
Mr. Bob Zigon
Sr Staff Research Engineer,
Beckman Coulter
(will also stay for dinner afterwards at 4:30 PM)
Week 8: Tues, Oct 10
October Break (no seminar)
Week 9: Tues, Oct 17
Dr. David Corliss
Analytics Architect
Ford Motor Company
(also available to meet students
for dinner on Monday and lunch on Tuesday)
Week 10: Tues, Oct 24
Ms. Veronica Schirm
Director, National & International Scholarships Office
Purdue University Honors College
Week 11: Tues, Oct 31
Week 12: Tues, Nov 7
Week 13: Tues, Nov 14
Week 14: Tues, Nov 21
no seminar
Week 15: Tues, Nov 28
Undergraduate student panel:
Mr. Sam Eschker
Week 16: Tues, Dec 5
Graduate student panel:
Mr. Will Eagan (Statistics)
Ms. Jayme Gonzales (Statistics at IUPUI)


This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. 1246818. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.