Introduction To Big Data Analysis
STAT 29000, Fall 2018

Class times: MWF, 8:30 AM -- 9:20 AM, in SC 183
(STAT 29000-001; Banner CRN 15200)

Professor: Mark Daniel Ward
Email: mdw@purdue.edu
Offices: HILL C129 and MATH 200
Phone: 765-496-9563

Office hours: Dr. Ward is always happy to meet with students.
Dr. Ward is available for walk-in or scheduled appointments anytime, throughout the week.
He is also always guaranteed to be available:

Teaching Assistant: Tyler Netherly
Email: tnetherl@purdue.edu

We will attempt to cover some or all of the following technologies this semester: Some interesting websites for data are given here. Additional sources of data or data representations are very welcome: Course description: click here

Course policy: click here

Plan to be present for class every day.

The group assignment for the projects is given here.

Projects: Project solutions will be collected on GitHub. Project solutions will be distributed.

Outline of Topics
Week 1: Mon, Aug 20
discussion about the course
notes about how to connect to the server
brief notes from day 1
Wed, Aug 22
evaluation with
Dr. Loran Carleton Parker
Fri, Aug 24
to consider: readings from week 1 that might help
some (hopefully) helpful UNIX commands
some UNIX examples
Week 2: Mon, Aug 27
working on Project 1
Wed, Aug 29
working on Project 1
Fri, Aug 31
awk examples
Week 3: Mon, Sep 3
(no class)
Wed, Sep 5
working on Project 2
Fri, Sep 7
working on Project 2
Week 4: Mon, Sep 10
working on Project 2
Wed, Sep 12
working on Project 2
Fri, Sep 14
working on Project 2
Week 5: Mon, Sep 17
introduction to R
Wed, Sep 19
introduction to R
Fri, Sep 21
working on Project 3
Week 6: Mon, Sep 24
working on Project 3
Wed, Sep 26
working on Project 3
Fri, Sep 28
working on Project 4
Week 7: Mon, Oct 1
working on Project 4
Wed, Oct 3
working on Project 4
Fri, Oct 5
working on Project 4
Week 8: Mon, Oct 8
October Break (no class)
Wed, Oct 10
working on Project 5
Fri, Oct 12
working on Project 5
Week 9: Mon, Oct 15
working on Project 5
Wed, Oct 17
working on Project 5
Fri, Oct 19
National Park Service example

Billboard example

working on Project 6
Week 10: Mon, Oct 22
working on Project 6
Wed, Oct 24
working on Project 6
Fri, Oct 26
working on Project 6
Week 11: Mon, Oct 29
working on Project 7
Wed, Oct 31
working on Project 7
Fri, Nov 2
working on Project 7
Week 12: Mon, Nov 5
working on Project 7
Wed, Nov 7
working on Project 8
Fri, Nov 9
working on Project 8
Week 13: Mon, Nov 12
working on Project 8
Wed, Nov 14
working on mini-Project 9
Fri, Nov 16
working on mini-Project 9
Week 14: Mon, Nov 19
mini-Project 9 is due
Wed, Nov 21
Thanksgiving Vacation (no class)
Fri, Nov 23
Thanksgiving Vacation (no class)
Week 15: Mon, Nov 26
working on Project 10
Wed, Nov 28
working on Project 10
Fri, Nov 30
Final project presentations

Ali Jeffries--Zeinab Aly--Molly Cromer
Kendra Lin
Kali Lacy
Jessica Gilbert
Garrett Mulcahy
Week 16: Mon, Dec 3
evaluations with Dr. Loran Carleton Parker
Wed, Dec 5
Final project presentations
Kevin LaMaster
Logan Bradley-Trietsch
Jayla Langford
Jun Kim
Menna Hassan
Jorgie Harris
Haydn Schroader
Fri, Dec 7
Final project presentations
Katie Brinkers
Sam Smock
Hayley Jordan
I'Yanna Scott
Jason Selbo
Forrest Brown


This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant Numbers 0939370, 1140489, 1246818. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.